An Introduction to IEC 61508 from a component manufacturer´s point of view

31st October 2012 at DTU

About the workshop:

The workshop will give an introduction to the differences between developing safety-related electrical components versus electrical controlled systems. The main focus in the presentation is on IEC 61508, which is a basic safety standard and is applicable for development of both safety-related systems as well as components.

About the interest group:

Embedded systems are increasingly used in safety-critical application areas, such as medical, railway, military, aerospace and factory systems, where a failure can endanger human life or the environment. Safety-critical embedded systems are becoming more complex, and they use software and hardware to implement part of their functions.

This is the reason why the national innovation network InfinIT has created an interest group on safety-critical systems. Participation in the Safety-Critical Systems Interest Group (SCSIG) is free of charge and is open to all the interested parties. The meeting is co-organized with IEEE Denmark Section, Chapter CO16--Embedded Systems.

Speaker biographies:

Preben Albrecht: is responsible for Functional and Electrical Safety at Danfoss Power Electronics, working in the field of High availability, Electrical and Functional Safety systems.

Jesper Berthing is working as a functional safety specialist at Danfoss Industrial Automation.

Time and place:

Time: Wednesday, October 31st, 9:00 to 12:00

DTU Meeting Center, Building 101A, Meeting room 1 (Mødelokale 1)
Technical University of Denmark
Anker Engelunds Vej 1
2800 Kgs. Lyngby

Participation fee: Participation is free of charge. For practical reasons we kindly ask you to register no later than October 29th. There will be a coffee break and a sandwich lunch at the end.

Paul Pop,, tel. 45 25 37 32

Tina Lindekilde Sørensen,, tel. 51 42 38 14

Registration deadline: 29th October 2012

Se alle Infinit arrangementer

Netværkets aktiviteter er medfinansieret af Uddannelses- og Forskningsministeriet og drives af et konsortium bestående af:
Alexandra Instituttet . BrainsBusiness . CISS . Datalogisk Institut, Københavns Universitet . DELTA . DTU Compute, Danmarks Tekniske Universitet . Institut for Datalogi, Aarhus Universitet . IT-Universitetet . Knowledge Lab, Syddansk Universitet . Væksthus Hovedstadsregionen . Aalborg Universitet